Festivals of India 2017 Calendar

This is the 2017 calendar for the festivals of India. Care has been taken to provide the exact dates on which these festivals will be celebrated in India in the year 2017. However, some festivals that are celebrated based on the sighting of moon may fall on a different date than mentioned here.

January Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Thursday 5 January
Gurupushyamrut Yoga Thursday 12 January
Lohri Friday 13 January
Makar Sankranti Saturday 14 January
Pongal Saturday 14 January
Bhogali Bihu- Maghar Dumah Sunday 15 January
Swami Vivekananda Jayanti (Hindu Calenda) Thursday 19 January
Subash Chandra Bose Jayanti Monday 23 January
Republic Day Thursday 26 January

February Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Saraswati Puja/ Vasant Panchami Wednesday 1 February
Gurupushyamrut Yoga Thursday 9 February
Mahashivratri Friday 24 February

March Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Gurupushyamrut Yoga Thursday 9 March
Holika Dahan Sunday 12 March
Holi Monday 13 March
Chaitti – Himachal New Year Tuesday 21 March
Gudi Padwa Tuesday 28 March
Ugadi Tuesday 28 March
Navreh – New Year of Kashmir Tuesday 28 March
Chaitra Navaratri Tuesday to Wednesday 28 March-5 April
Vikram Samvat Nav Varsh – Hindu New Year Wednesday 29 March
Cheti Chand-Jhulelal Jayanti Wednesday 29 March
Gangaur Thursday 30 March

April Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Basanti Durga Puja Sunday to Thursday 2-6 April
Ram Navami Wednesday 5 April
Mahavir Jayanti Sunday 9 April
Hanuman Jayanti Tuesday 11 April
Baisakhi Friday 14 April
Good Friday Friday 14 April
Easter Sunday 16 April
Rongali Bihu Friday 14 April
Vishu- Malyalam New Year Friday 14 April
Mesha Sankranti- Oriya New Year Friday 14 April
Puthandu – Tamil New Year Friday 14 April
Ambedkar Jayanti Friday 14 April
Nobo Borsho Poila Baisakh-Bengali New Year Friday 14 April
Akshaya Tritiya-Akha Teej Friday 28April

May Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Rabindra Nath Tagore Jayanti Sunday 7 May
Buddha Purnima Wednesday 10 May
Shab-e-Barat Friday 12 May (subject to moon's appearance)
Vat Savitri Amavasya Puja Thursday 25 May

June Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Vat Savitri Purnima Vrat Thursday 8 June
Sant Kabir Jayanti Friday 9 June
Sao Joao Feast of St John the Baptist Saturday 24 June
Jagannath Rath Yatra Sunday 25 June
Ramzan-Eid-ul-Fitr Monday 26 June (subject to moon's appearance)

July Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Champakulam Moolam Boat Race Saturday 8 July (confirm with local authorities)
Hemis Festival Monday-Tuesday 3-4 July
Guru Purnima Sunday 9 July
Hariyali Teej Wednesday 26 July
Nag Panchami Thursday 27 July

August Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Raksha Bandhan Monday 7 August
Kajali Teej Thursday 10 August
Krishna Janmashtami Monday 14 August
Independence Day Tuesday 15 August
Hartalika Teej Thursday 24 August
Ganesha Chaturthi Friday 25 August

September Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Bakr Id – Eid ul-Adha Friday 1 September
Onam Monday 4 September
Mahalaya Tuesday 19 September
Navratri Thursday to Friday 21-29 September
Saraswati Puja in South India Friday 29 September
Durga Puja Tuesday to Saturday 26-30 September
Dussehra Saturday 30 September

October Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Muharram Ashura Day Sunday 1 October
Gandhi Jayanti Monday 2 October
Sharad Purnima/Bengal Lakshmi Puja Thursday 5 October
Karwa Chauth Sunday 8 October
Dhan Teras Tuesday 17 October
Narak Chaturdashi/Chhoti Diwali Wednesday 18 October
Diwali Thursday 19 October
Kali Puja Thursday 19 October
Govardhan Puja Friday 20 October
Bhai Dooj Saturday 21 October
Chhath Puja Thursday 26 October

November Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Guru Nanak Jayanti Saturday 4 November
Gurupushyamrut Yoga Thursday 9 November

December Festivals of India 2017

Festival Day Date
Milad-un-Nabi Saturday 2 December
Gurupushyamrut Yoga Thursday 7 December
Christmas Monday 25 December